Digital literacy

A common statement when discussing e-learning is that we must adapt our pedagogical culture to where the students are and how they approach and seek knowledge. The digital world is all around us, even more so for our students that have grown up with both Internet and social media. Digital tools are now mature; they are no longer only technology add-ons, but rather a natural part of everyday life. I believe that using flexible digital learning tools is a necessity and used as a compliment are beneficial for all students, as each student can use their own learning method of choice, whenever and wherever they choose.

In my professional life as a University teacher, my primary mission is to communicate the curriculum to the students and to ensure goal achievement through examination. This requires an effective dialogue and sensitivity to the students’ perspectives and individual learning patterns and the adaptation of teaching methods in this direction. Pedagogic development is therefore a fundamental parameter to improve and assure the quality of future University education of the highest class. Outdated pedagogical approaches and methods disengage students. The use of complementary learning resources in the form of digital technology, especially through the integration with mobile applications removes these barriers to student engagement, it makes the educational experiences fit seamlessly into the digital and online reality the students live in. These technologies are an integrated part of the social culture of young adults and are available to all social groups, thus in a sense facilitates democratization of knowledge.

However, I believe one needs to distinguish between the learning environment of our students and the personal digital environment of yourself. In my personal life I am only an irregular guest on social media and use mainly phone, e-mail, Skype, and different messenger services such as What’s app/Viber to keep my personal contacts. Although I have become increasingly social in a digital sense, I still feel a bit reluctant to go all in and fully embrace the open-network-thinking in my personal life. This far, the ONL151 have not only enlightened me to novel opportunities for using e-learning tools in my teaching but I might also take further steps toward the digitized me also on a personal level. I am looking forward to follow where this takes me in the future.

Kommentera

